Home arrow Links
Links
Here are some links to many resources available on similar topics. If you have one to share, please use the Contact Us link and let us know!
Choose one of the categories below and happy learning!
 

Links

Free Publications DSHS Forms and Literature Inquiry and Order Entry SystemDSHS-provided publications on various health-related topics such as HIV/STDs, dating violence, and family planninghttp://webds.dshs.state.tx.us/mamd/litcat/default.asp SAMHSA PublicationsFormerly the National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI)Formerly the National Mental Health Information Center (NMHIC)http://store.samhsa.gov/home National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)http://drugpubs.drugabuse.gov/ National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/Publications/PamphletsBrochuresPosters/English/ Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)http://www.whitehousedrugpolicy.gov/publications/ Mental Health America of Texas – Publicationshttp://www.mhatexas.org/publications/index.html Mental Health America – Fact Sheets on various Mental Health Topicshttp://www.nmha.org/ National Institutes of Mental Health Publications Ordering Form – 50 copies of each title, will make quantity exceptions for some special eventshttp://infocenter.nimh.nih.gov/faxorder.cfm Child Welfare Information Gateway – topics related to child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, and morehttp://www.childwelfare.gov/catalog/ Health Resources and Services Administration – publications from all divisions of the Federal Health Resources and Services Administration.  Includes information on topics such as bullying, HIV/AIDS, Mental Health, Public Health, and Rural Healthhttp://www.ask.hrsa.gov/ National Clearinghouse on Families and Youthhttp://www.ncfy.com/publications/index.htm EPA’s Smoke-Free Homes Program Publications (Second-hand Smoke)http://www.epa.gov/smokefree/publications.html CDC Smoking and Tobacco Usehttp://apps.nccd.cdc.gov/osh_pub_catalog/PublicationList.aspx 

Bullying Stop Bullying Now (US Dept. of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Admin.)http://www.stopbullyingnow.hrsa.gov/kids/ (kids)http://www.stopbullyingnow.hrsa.gov/adults/default.aspx (adults)http://www.stopbullyingnow.hrsa.gov/es/indexAdult.asp (Spanish) Bullying (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/bullying.html Bullying (National Crime Prevention Council)http://www.ncpc.org/topics/bullying Bullying (National PTA)http://www.pta.org/bullying.asp 

Cyberbullying Cyberbullying (National Crime Prevention Council)http://www.ncpc.org/topics/cyberbullying Cyberbullying, 'Sexting' Major Problems for Schoolkids (HealthDay News)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/news/fullstory_102438.html Cyberbullying Research Centerhttp://www.cyberbullying.us/ 

Internet Safety/Sexting Sexting: How Parents Can Keep Their Kids Safe (National Crime Prevention Council) - PDFhttp://www.ncpc.org/resources/files/pdf/internet-safety/NCPC-FactSheet2.pdf Sexting: How Teens Can Stay Safe (National Crime Prevention Council) - PDFhttp://www.ncpc.org/resources/files/pdf/internet-safety/NCPC-FactSheet1.pdf Cyberbullying, 'Sexting' Major Problems for Schoolkids (HealthDay News)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/news/fullstory_102438.html Internet Safety: Fact Sheet for Parents (American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists) - PDFhttp://www.acog.org/departments/adolescentHealthCare/TeenCareToolKit/internetSfty_4_parents.pdf Parent’s Guide to Internet Safety (Federal Bureau of Investigation)http://www.fbi.gov/publications/pguide/pguidee.htm Internet Safety (Nemours Foundation)http://kidshealth.org/parent/positive/family/net_safety.html Internet Safety: Safe Surfing Tips for Teens (Nemours Foundation)http://kidshealth.org/teen/safety/safebasics/internet_safety.html Safe Cyberspace Surfing (Nemours Foundation)http://kidshealth.org/kid/watch/house/internet_safety.html 

Spice/K2 Spotlilght on K2 (DrugFreeTexas.org)http://drugfreetexas.org/spotlight-on-k2-synthetic-marijuana/ Synthetic Cannabis (Wikipedia)http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synthetic_cannabis 

Gambling/Online Gambling Compulsive Gambling (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/compulsivegambling.html Online Gambling and Kids: A Bad Bet (Federal Trade Commission) – PDFhttp://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/alerts/alt116.pdf 

Sexual Addiction Compulsive Sexual Behavior and Sex Addiction: Too Much of a Good Thing (National Coalition for the Protection of Children and Families) – PDF (16 page booklet)http://www.purehope.net/images/HelpLine/Addiction%20Brochure.pdf The Society for the Advancement of Sexual Health (SASH)http://www.sash.net/Offers hope and resources to those seeking information about sexual addiction. Compulsive Sexual Behavior (Mayo Clinic)http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/compulsive-sexual-behavior/DS00144 Sex Addiction (WebMD)http://www.webmd.com/sexual-conditions/guide/sexual-addiction Sexual Addiction (Wikipedia)http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sexual_addiction What Is Sexual Addiction? (PsychCentral)http://psychcentral.com/lib/2006/what-is-sexual-addiction/ Sex Addicts Anonymoushttp://saa-recovery.org/ Sex and Love Addicts Anonymoushttp://www.slaafws.org/ Sexaholics Anonymoushttp://www.sa.org/ Sexual Addiction Recovery Resourceshttp://www.sarr.org/joomla/ Sex Addiction (About.com: Addictions)http://addictions.about.com/od/sexaddiction/Sex_Addiction.htm 

HIV/AIDS (both general and substance abuse-specific information) HIV/STD pamphlets/educational materials from DSHShttp://www.dshs.state.tx.us/hivstd/info/edmat.shtm AIDS (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/aids.html HIV/AIDS (CDC)http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/ The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resourcehttp://www.thebody.com/index.html HIV/AIDS & Drug/Alcohol Use (The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource)http://www.thebody.com/index/whatis/druguse.html HIV/AIDS and Substance Abuse (National Library of Medicine)http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/hiv/substanceabuse.html HIV/AIDS and Drug Abuse (NIDA)http://drugabuse.gov/drugpages/hiv.htmlhttp://hiv.drugabuse.gov/ teen-specific Alcohol and HIV/AIDS (NIAAA)http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/ResearchInformation/ExtramuralResearch/NIAAAResearchAreas/ Drugs, Alcohol and HIV/AIDS: A Consumer Guide (NCADI)http://ncadistore.samhsa.gov/catalog/productDetails.aspx?ProductID=17851 Alcohol and HIV/AIDS (About.com: Alcoholism)http://alcoholism.about.com/library/blnaa57.htm HIV/AIDS and Substance Abuse (About.com: HIV/AIDS)http://aids.about.com/od/substanceabuse/HIV_AIDS_and_Substance_Abuse.htm Drug Use and HIV (AIDS.org)http://www.aids.org/factsheets/154-Drug-Use-and-HIV.html Frequent Alcohol Use Linked to Faster HIV Disease Progression (Science Daily) – 5/14/10http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/05/100513162753.htm Substance Abuse and HIV/AIDS: Related Resources (HIV InSite, UC San Francisco)http://hivinsite.ucsf.edu/InSite?page=kbr-03-03-08 

Sexually Transmitted Infections HIV/STD pamphlets/educational materials from DSHShttp://www.dshs.state.tx.us/hivstd/info/edmat.shtm Sexually Transmitted Diseases (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/sexuallytransmitteddiseases.html 

Dating Violence Teen Violence (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/teenviolence.html Domestic Violence (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/domesticviolence.html Dating Violence (National Center for Victims of Crime)http://www.ncvc.org/ncvc/main.aspx?dbName=DocumentViewer&DocumentID=37939 Teen Dating Violence (CDC)http://www.cdc.gov/ViolencePrevention/intimatepartnerviolence/teen_dating_violence.html 

Abstinence National Abstinence Clearinghousehttp://www.abstinence.net/ Abstinence (Nemours Foundation)http://kidshealth.org/teen/sexual_health/contraception/abstinence.html Abstinence: American Pregnancy Associationhttp://www.americanpregnancy.org/preventingpregnancy/abstinence.html Abstinence (Planned Parenthood)http://www.plannedparenthood.org/health-topics/birth-control/abstinence-4215.htm 

Prescription Drugs Prescription Drug Abuse (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/prescriptiondrugabuse.html 

Alcohol and Energy Drinks Alcohol, Energy Drinks, and Youth: A Dangerous Mix (The Marin Institute)http://www.marininstitute.org/alcopops/energy_drink_report.htm Alcoholic Energy Drinks: A Risky Mix (TIME)http://www.time.com/time/health/article/0,8599,1810802,00.html Dangerous Cocktail: Energy Drinks + Alcohol (WebMD)http://www.webmd.com/mental-health/alcohol-abuse/news/20100212/dangerous-cocktail-energy-drinks-alcohol Mixing Alcohol and Energy Drinks May Spell Disaster (Alcohol Problems and Solutions)http://www2.potsdam.edu/hansondj/HealthIssues/1043185105.html Senators Call on FDA to Rule on Alcoholic Energy Drinks (NPR) – 7/29/10http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2010/07/29/128849712/senators-call-on-fda-to-rule-on-alcoholic-energy-drinks 

Social Hosting Social Host – Information and Brochure (MADD)http://www.madd.org/underage-drinking/social-host/ Example of a Social Hosting Brochure, from the Kansas Family Council - PDFhttp://www.kansasfamily.com/documents/SocHostBrochure.pdf SocialHost.org – information about social host ordinances, including model ordinanceshttp://www.socialhost.org/ 

Anti-Energy Drinks/Purple Drank Anti-Energy Drinks (Wikipedia)http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Energy_drink#Anti-energy_drinks Purple Drank (Wikipedia)http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Purple_drank Drank (Wikipedia)http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drank_(soda) Anti-Energy Drink Hard for Some Mental Health Experts to Swallow (Dallas Morning News, 2/18/10)http://www.dallasnews.com/sharedcontent/dws/dn/latestnews/stories/DN-drank_18met.ART0.Central.Edition1.4bab510.html Drank: The Anti-Energy Drink (NPR)http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=91371664 

Cough Syrup Abuse Cold and Cough Medicines (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/coldandcoughmedicines.html Parent’s Guide to Preventing Teen Cough Medicine Abuse (Partnership for a Drug-Free America)http://www.drugfree.org/file.ashx?id=9be2b11a-eff5-4840-97b8-a1aab1962e4c&UVer=3cddd48e-13da-444e-a313-7528682d09e1 Cough and Cold Medicine Abuse (Nemours Foundation)http://kidshealth.org/parent/h1n1_center/h1n1_center_treatment/cough_cold_medicine_abuse.html 

Smokeless Tobacco Smokeless Tobacco (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/smokelesstobacco.html 

Snus Snus (Wikipedia)http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snus What is the New Tobacco Product Snus? (WikiAnswers)http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_new_tobacco_product_snus Smokeless Tobacco and the U.S. Launch of Snus (Better Health)http://getbetterhealth.com/smokeless-tobacco-and-the-us-launch-of-snus/2010.04.06 

Hookahs Hookahs (CDC)http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/fact_sheets/tobacco_industry/hookahs/ Hookah (Wikipedia)http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hookah Hookah is Not a Safe Alternative to Smoking (Silver City Sun News)http://www.scsun-news.com/ci_16005408?source=most_emailed 

Cigars not as dangerous (myth) Cigars (American Lung Association)http://www.lungusa.org/stop-smoking/about-smoking/facts-figures/cigars.html Cigar Smoking and Cancer (National Cancer Institute)http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/Tobacco/cigars Pipe and Cigar Smoking and Lung Function (American College of Physicians)http://www.annals.org/content/152/4/I-28.full.pdf 

Marijuana/Tobacco Health Difference Respiratory Effects of Marijuana and Tobacco Use in a U.S. Sample (Jnl. of General Internal Medicine)http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1490047/ Myth: Marijuana Is Harmless (About.com: Alcoholism)http://alcoholism.about.com/od/pot/a/bldea050426_4.htm 

Heroin Heroin (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/heroin.html 

Salvia Salvia (NIDA)http://www.nida.nih.gov/Infofacts/salvia.html 

Underage Drinking Underage Drinking (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/underagedrinking.html Underage Drinking: Talk Early, Talk Often (SAMHSA)http://www.underagedrinking.samhsa.gov/ Underage Drinking Laws (Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission)http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/laws/underage_drinking_laws.asp 

Teen Pregnancy Teenage Pregnancy (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/teenagepregnancy.html Pregnancy and Substance Abuse (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/pregnancyandsubstanceabuse.html 

Choking Game Risky Business: The Choking Game (SAMHSA)http://family.samhsa.gov/monitor/choking_game.aspx Choking Game: What Are the Warning Signs (Mayo Clinic)http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/choking-game/MY01260 

Anger Anger Management for Substance Abuse and Mental Health Clients (SAMHSA)Therapy Manual and Client Workbook, in English and Spanishhttp://ncadistore.samhsa.gov/catalog/productDetails.aspx?ProductID=17836 Manual, Englishhttp://ncadistore.samhsa.gov/catalog/productDetails.aspx?ProductID=17823 Workbook, Englishhttp://ncadistore.samhsa.gov/catalog/productDetails.aspx?ProductID=17502 Manual, Spanishhttp://ncadistore.samhsa.gov/catalog/productDetails.aspx?ProductID=17829 Workbook, Spanish Controlling Anger (American Psychological Association)http://www.apa.org/topics/anger/control.aspx Anger Management (Mayo Clinic)http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/anger-management/MH00075 

Self-Injury/Cutting Self-Injury/Cutting (Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research)http://www.mayoclinic.com/print/self-injury/DS00775/DSECTION=all&METHOD=print Cutting (Nemours Foundation)http://kidshealth.org/teen/your_mind/mental_health/cutting.html How Can I Stop Cutting? (Nemours Foundation)http://kidshealth.org/teen/your_mind/problems/resisting_cutting.html 

PTSD PTSD (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/posttraumaticstressdisorder.html PTSD (Medline Plus) – Spanishhttp://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/spanish/posttraumaticstressdisorder.html 

Mental Health Resources Mental Health (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/mentalhealth.html Bipolar Disorder (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/bipolardisorder.html Child Mental Health (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/childmentalhealth.html Delirium (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/delirium.html Depression (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/depression.html Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/obsessivecompulsivedisorder.html Personality Disorders (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/personalitydisorders.html Psychotic Disorders (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/psychoticdisorders.html Suicide (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/suicide.html Teen Mental Health (Medline Plus)http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/teenmentalhealth.html 

Tobacco www.thetruth.com  www.tobaccofreekids.org  www.worthit.org

Texas Network Technology